Delete or inactivate an external user
After an external user slides into an instance, they cannot be deleted. External users are preserved to maintain the audit trail throughout Sage Intacct.
You can inactivate an external user. Inactivating an external user does the following:
Prevents the external user from accessing your company.
Hides the external user from lists throughout your company.
However, you cannot change the status of the CPAUser, intacct, Services, or CNS_parentCompanyID_HIDDEN external users. Inactivating access for these types of users is rare. Learn about disabling external authorizations.
| Subscription | Administration |
|---|---|
| Regional availability | All regions |
| User type | Business user with admin privileges |
| Permissions | Users: List, View, Edit |
To inactivate an external user:
Go to Company > Admin > Users, roles, and groups and select External users.
Find the external user and select Edit.
Select the Status dropdown and choose Inactive.
Save your changes.
Enter your password on the Verify your identity page.
Go to Company > Admin > Users, roles, and groups and select External users.
Find the user that you want to edit.
Select Edit at the end of the row.
Select the Status dropdown and choose Inactive.
Select Save.
Enter your password on the Verify your identity page.
