Manage Marketplace agents roles
The agent role is added to your company when you purchase an agent. It has the permissions needed for the agent to perform its task.
About agent roles
Each Marketplace agent includes a dedicated role that defines the maximum permissions available to the agent. When you purchase an agent, this role is added to your company. After purchasing an agent, an administrator can edit the role in the same way as any other role, by adding, editing, or removing permissions.
The difference between the agent role and the user role
Both roles are required for an agent perform tasks in your company.
Agent role: The role added to your company when you purchase the agent. It has preconfigured permissions that allows the agent to do what it does. You can edit it, but you cannot delete it.
User role: A role you assign to people to allow them to do their job.
How agent access works
Agent access depends on two levels of permissions:
The permissions assigned to the agent's role.
The permissions assigned to the user's role.
An agent can perform an action only when the required permission is granted to both the agent role and the user. This allows administrators to restrict an agent’s capabilities without removing permissions that users need for their own work.
The permissions listed in the agent profile are a display label only. They don't show everything the agent can access. To see what the agent can do, review the agent role.
Edit an agent role
Edit an agent role to change the permissions available to a Marketplace agent in your company.
| Subscription |
|
|---|---|
| Regional availability |
|
| User type | Business user with admin privileges |
| Permissions | Users: List, View, Edit |
| Configuration | Available only in roles-based companies. |
Go to Company > Admin > Users, roles, and groups > Roles.
Find the agent role that you want to edit.
Select Edit at the end of the row.
- Add, edit, or remove permissions as needed.
- Save the role.
Go to Company > Admin > Users, roles, and groups > Roles.
Find the agent role that you want to change and select Edit.
- Add, edit, or remove permissions as needed.
- Save the role.
After you edit an agent roel, test the agent to confirm that it still works as expected.
Updates to agent roles
The agent's developer can update the agent role's permissions. If Sage Intacct approves the change, the update overwrites the agent role in your company, including any changes you have made. You might not notified when this happens.
After an agent is updated, review the agent role and test the agent to confirm that it still works as expected.
Assign an agent role to users
You can assign an agent role to a user, but Sage Intacct recommends that you keep agent roles separate from user roles.
When an agent is used, its permissions intersect with the permissions of the user who is using it. If you assign the agent role directly to a user, that user automatically receives any permissions added to the role by future agent updates. Consider this security impact before you assign an agent role to a user.
Who can use an agent
A user can use a Marketplace agent in Sage Copilot only when:
The company has a Finance Intelligence Agent (FIA) subscription.
The Marketplace agent has been purchased and associated with the company.
The Marketplace agent is activated.
The Marketplace agent is assigned to the user's role.
The user's role includes the permissions the agent needs.
If any of these requirements are not met, the Marketplace agent does not appear in the list of agents available from the @ picker in Sage Copilot.
For more information, see About Marketplace agents.
The audit trail and Marketplace agents
Intacct records the registered agent name and the user who started the request. Administrators can use the API Usage Detail report to identify which agent and user were involved in an activity. The audit trail also shows this information for applicable create, update, and delete operations.
Marketplace agents currently support read-only operations, so you might see few audit trail entries for now.
Best practices
Before changing a Marketplace agent role:
Review the agent role before you assign the agent to users.
Keep agent roles separate from user roles.
Record any changes you make to an agent role, because approved agent updates overwrite them.
Test the agent after you edit its role or after the agent is updated.
